Let us help you reinstate your Illinois suspended license
Call 815-242-2000 to discuss your options
Andreano Law is a Illinois traffic and speeding ticket law firm with proven success in courts across the state of Illinois, including a suspended license.
We do all the work and appear on your behalf. Whenever possible. It’s that simple.
• FREE Initial Consultation
• No Office Visit Necessary
• Usually No Court Visit
On fines, court costs, and car insurance premium increases.
No going to court, no multiple trips, and no missed work.
When we represent you in traffic court, you may not need to face the judge, district attorney, or police officer to argue your ticket.
Driver’s license issues remedied. Usually no courthouse hassles.
Illinois Suspended License Ticket Information
REASONS FOR DRIVER’S LICENSE SUSPENSIONS
There are a variety of reasons why your Illinois driver’s license might be suspended. Some of these are related to specific driving violations, while others may be due to violation of other State laws. Following are some of the most common reasons for an Illinois driver’s license to be suspended or revoked.
• Toll way Violations/Evasions – Your license can also be suspended if you do not pay fines for five or more toll way violations or evasions. Check here for more information on this kind of suspension.
• Excessive Moving Violations. The state of Illinois operates on a point system, in which drivers accumulate points on their license for every moving violation they commit. If you accumulate points for more than three violations in a 12 month period on your current driver record, your license will be suspended.
• Non-Driving Reasons for License Suspension. A variety of non-driving violations or issues can result in your license being suspended. These include: not responding to a Driver Services Department notice or not appearing in court; failing to pay traffic tickets, fines or surcharges. In addition to this, in certain cases, the right to apply for a driver’s license or instruction permit can be withheld from a person under 18 years of age, either for six months or until the 18th birthday.
• Failure to pay Child Support – Your license can be suspended under the Family Financial Responsibility Law if you default on your court imposed child support payments. For more information on this, check the Deadbeats Don’t Drive Program.
• Driving Under the Influence. Your Illinois driver’s license will be suspended if you are found guilty of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The length of the suspension depends on the severity of the violation and whether it is a first or repeat offense. A minimum revocation period of 12 months will be given to you.
• Driving with a Suspended License or no License. Driving with a suspended license will lead to an increase in the length of the suspension, and you may also be imprisoned for up to five years. The duration of the additional suspension varies depending on the reason for the underlying suspension. Your driver’s license may also be suspended if you do not have your license with you while you are driving.
• Other Driving-Related Violations. Your Illinois driver’s license may also be suspended if you engage in reckless driving, are found to be at fault in a fatal accident, or if you abandon your vehicle on a public highway.
• Physical or Psychological Disqualification. The Driver Services Department can order a re-examination of any person who may not be fit to drive. An individual’s driving privileges may be suspended if the re-examination finds they are physically or psychologically unable to drive safely.
• Driving without Insurance. All motor vehicles driven in Illinois must be properly insured. Failure to provide proof of valid auto insurance can result in your license being suspended.
• Parking Suspensions – These suspensions are issued against drivers who have 10 or more parking violations and these have not been dealt with. Once again a fee will be needed to reinstate the license.
• Automated Traffic Violation Suspension- This suspension comes into effect when you have failed to pay a fine or have five or more automated traffic violations.